The pearl

Today cultured pearls represent over 98% of the pearls sold worldwide.

There are :

  • the Japanese and Chinese marine cultured pearls, namely akoya pearls, from 3 to 8mm in size naturally white or color treated,
  • the Australian and Indonesian marine cultured pearls, from 8 to 15mm in size naturally white, silver or gold,
  • the Tahitian marine cultured pearls from 8 to 12mm in size, naturally colored from black to grey, green to rose,
  • the freshwater cultured pearls, mostly Chinese, naturally white and pink but also color treated.

The grading of tahitian pearls is based on the Tahitian deputy assembly laws nÅã 2005-42, APF dated 14 February 2005, and 2004-29, APF dated 12 February 2004.

There are :

  • 4 shapes, Round, semibaroque, baroque and circled,
  • 4 grades, from A to D based on flaws, blemishes and luster.

The diameter (the weight) is also important to price pearls.


The shell

The black-lipped pearl oyster "Pinctada margaritifera var. cumingi " is renowned for its shell and the quality of its mother of pearl which is still used for the button industry but even more today for furniture decoration and many luxury goods.

In Polynesia, handicrafts in nacre is increasingly creative and gives way to genuine works of art. The cosmetics industry is also interested in biochemical characteristics of mother of pearl and many brands offer products containing extracts of nacre.

Mana Pearl Tahiti - Tahitian Black Pearl
©Gauguin's Pearl 2019